General Forum

Tips for CIS student 9 replies

Wolfblack said on: 2007-05-08 02:03 pm
6198 Days, 1 Hr, 41 Min, 5 Sec ago
i got to Devry my major is computer information systems and my compression is Web-desigh and adminisration i was wondering if any of you guys out there have a few tips for me its my first semester and right know im just learning Visual Logic but im gonna eventually learn the others. so if ya have any tips id greatly appreciate it alot

[Added at 05/08/2007 16:03:15 by Wolfblack]
Shadowsguy said on: 2007-05-08 02:43 pm
6198 Days, 1 Hr, 38 Sec ago
Bail. Quickly. Programming sucks hardcore.

Networking/systems administration is the way to go. More money, less repetitive boringness that will cause your brain to implode. Instead of doing things like typing code all day (*snore*) you do things like create/manage ID's, manage email, copying files, install windows on new PC's(and play logd on another computer while it's installing), and other fun things.

But that's JMO :D
Korgrath (Mod) said on: 2007-05-08 03:54 pm
6197 Days, 23 Hrs, 49 Min, 36 Sec ago
I started college going for a CS degree, but spending 4 hours in the lab because I missed a ; or something somewhere in my stupid little Java program made me explode, so I dropped it. If you really like it though, don't be afraid to stick it out, even though people say the bottom's fallen out on the programming market, there does still seem to be a strong demand for it.
TBrown (Admin) said on: 2007-05-08 04:29 pm
6197 Days, 23 Hrs, 14 Min, 42 Sec ago
"things like create/manage ID's, manage email, copying files, install windows on new PC's"

That is a surefire recipe for boredom! Give me a tough algorithm to solve over silly administrative tasks any day!

I guess what I'm trying to say is: programming is for some people, administration is for some people. If you don't like where your degree program is taking you, change it.
TheSource (Admin) said on: 2007-05-08 08:21 pm
6197 Days, 19 Hrs, 22 Min, 29 Sec ago